Exhibition text

On November 17, 1921, the painter Ursula Schultze-Bluhm, who went by the name "Ursula", was born in Mittenwalde (Brandenburg). She died on April 9, 1999 in Cologne. In her generation Ursula was one of the still very few women in art. In her painting she is unique. Own and the obsessions as well as aggressions of others she sublimated into a representationally designed world from the delicate ink pen drawing to sheer tearing form and color in the large painting to the third dimension in soft materials, such as fur, but peppered with tacks and razor blades, which could develop from the surface to reliefs or to independent sculptural formations, her "assemblages", or - around 1970 - even to room-filling as well as room-filling installations, then still called "environments".

read more

Ursula experienced the decline and collapse of Central Europe at first hand in her formative third decade of life. She helped to shape the reconstruction as an employee of the Amerika-Haus in Frankfurt am Main, where she met the painter Bernard Schultze, whose life and work companion she became with admirable intensity until her death. In 1950 she began to paint, starting from the two-dimensional abstraction of Willi Baumeister, for example, but after a short time found a personal concretion in the field of tension between naive painting, art brut and Informel. Despite fifty years of working with Bernard Schultze in the same room, the positions of both never approached each other, but rather developed individually in constant discussion and confrontation. Ursula created her own "individual mythology" as a woman, which makes her appear lonely and large in her generation of artists, still completely dominated by men.

Experiences and obsessions, reality and dream, the real and the imagined coagulate in sharp drawing of naively caricatured form and the most violent, dissonant color. Through this Ursula opens her inner self and at the same time spikily hides and defends it, just as she later hid tacks and razor blades in the fur parts of her large assemblages so that no one could get too close to her vulnerable heart. This and the art - her husband's and her own - she defended militantly to the end.

Whether one can really believe her touch of lyricism in "Papillon" from 1962 in this exhibition, the second part of the title "qui est un Icarus" immediately calls into question and fairy tale like in "Drei einsam im Kaleschen-Meer" from 1963 reminds with "lonely" immediately of the many open and hidden cruelties of the fairy tale world as also in "Vogel und das Lustschlösschen" from 1971. Behind these are concrete experiences, as in "Die Alte von M." (The Old Woman of M.) from 1966, whom Ursula saw quite suddenly sitting on a high armchair in a backyard during a visit to her birthplace there that year, and who could still tell her stories from the time of her birth. "In the Café" from 1989, the artist encounters the horrors of alcohol and nicotine in the form of a dangerous giant insect shimmying down from the ceiling between her and the glass and cigarette. The ashtray on the table of the smoking drinker is even labeled as such, perhaps so that it was not missed. For their perception was often subject to violent sensory illusions, which could turn the people near them into monsters, as in "Le grand diner des petits monstres". Perhaps the "petits monstres" were also children, to whom the childless artist had a highly ambivalent relationship ranging from touching affection to downright spooky aversion.

She encounters "fine society" in all its bizarreness in the sovereignly stilted "Impératrice des Indes" of 1995, perhaps only an upturned contemporary, in the chance meeting of "The Woman, the Bird and the Toad" in 1996 or a "Bizarre Trio" in China as well as a giant dog in "Welch eine Begegnung" and figures draping themselves "Around a Swan" in the same year. If these observations were rather ironically commented outlandishness of people and situations, the society shapes itself again more abysmally in "The Two Sisters" of 1997, which obviously have little in common, and the "Terror Masquerade" of the same year in the form of the masks of the choir in the Greek theater, the masks of the dance of death of Mary Wigmann or the shivering figures in winter expulsive spring parades of the Alpine countries. At the end of the exhibition the painter gives a review of "A fine society".respectively their heads of strange multiform.

Not only in terms of content does Ursula go completely her own and independent way, but she also draws her means of expression and her stylistic possibilities from herself alone. There are neither models nor anything comparable. This is astonishing and probably the reason why her work has not yet received the attention in the art world that it deserves because of its originality and quality. Ursula herself, the fighter, was quite aware of these facts as a matter of course. Unfortunately, she was not able to live to see the ninth decade of life, which is often so essential for women in this situation today. Our friend died very suddenly for all of us on April 9, 1999 in Cologne.

In 1991 we showed a retrospective of Ursula with catalogue in Campione d'Italia and in 1998 in Wichtrach/Bern a double exhibition together with the work of Bernard Schultze. This time our Ursula exhibition is in the context of the parallel exhibition "Women", both in the gallery's main building, a reference to the enormous active and passive role of women in the art world, a reference that should perhaps once again reduce the still latent machismo to absurdity a little more.

Shortly after our 1991 exhibition, our unforgettable fellow student Sabine Fehlemann showed Ursula's life's work at the Von der Heydt Museum in Wuppertal, the Stadtmuseum Cologne, and the Kunsthalle Bremen with a comprehensive catalog book published by Hirmer-Verlag in Munich. The equally unforgettable curator of the Ludwig Museum in Cologne, Evelyn Weiss, published the fundamental monograph on Ursula in 2007, also by Hirmer-Verlag in Munich, with her own contributions and those of Heinz Althöfer, Barbara Herrmann, and Christa Lichtenstern, as well as an index of all of Barbara Herrmann's works.

Wolfgang Henze

WORKS IN THE EXHIBITION (SELECTION)

No artworks have been added to this exhibition yet.
Contact us for a list of artworks.

Exhibition views

No items found.

Artists IN THE EXHIBITION

No artists have been added to this exhibition yet.

Online catalogue

Text zur Ausstellung

Am 17. November 1921 wurde die Malerin Ursula Schultze-Bluhm, die mit „Ursula“ firmierte, in Mittenwalde (Brandenburg) geboren. Sie starb am 9. April 1999 in Köln. In ihrer Generation war Ursula eine der noch ganz wenigen Frauen in der Kunst. In ihrer Malerei ist sie einzigartig. Eigene und die Obsessionen sowie Aggressionen anderer sublimierte sie in eine gegenständlich gestaltete Welt von der zarten Tuschfederzeichnung zu schier zerreissender Form und Farbe im grossen Gemälde hin zur dritten Dimension in weichen Materialien, wie Pelz, jedoch mit Heftzwecken und Rasierklingen gespickt, die sich aus der Fläche zu Reliefs oder zu selbständigen skulpturalen Gebilden, ihren „Assemblagen“, entwickeln konnten oder – um 1970 – gar zu raumgreifenden sowie raumfüllenden Installationen, damals noch „Environments“ genannt.

read more

Ursula erlebte Niedergang und Zusammenbruch Mitteleuropas hautnah in ihrem prägenden dritten Lebensjahrzehnt. Den Wiederaufbau gestaltete sie als Mitarbeiterin des Amerika-Hauses in Frankfurt am Main mit und lernte dort den Maler Bernard Schultze kennen, dessen Lebens- und Arbeitsgefährtin mit bewunderungswürdiger Intensität sie bis zu ihrem Tode wurde. 1950 begann sie zu malen, ging von der flächigen Abstraktion etwa Willi Baumeisters aus, fand aber nach kurzer Zeit zu einer persönlichen Konkretion im Spannungsfeld von naiver Malerei, art brut und Informel. Trotz fünfzig Jahren Arbeitens mit Bernard Schultze in einem Raum näherten sich die Positionen beider nie, entwickelten sich vielmehr individuell in ständiger Diskussion und Konfrontation. Ursula schuf ihre eigene „individuelle Mythologie“ als Frau, die sie einsam und gross in ihrer noch völlig vom Mann beherrschten Künstlergeneration erscheinen lässt.

Erlebnisse und Obsessionen, Wirklichkeit und Traum, Reales und Imaginiertes gerinnen in scharfer Zeichnung von naiv-karikierender Form und heftigster, dissonanter Farbe. Hierdurch eröffnet Ursula ihr Inneres und versteckt und verteidigt es gleichzeitig stachelig, so wie sie später in den Pelzteilen ihrer grossen Assemblagen Heftzwecken und Rasierklingen verbarg, damit niemand ihrem verletzlichen Herz zu Nahe kommen konnte. Dieses und die Kunst - die ihres Mannes und ihre eigene - verteidigte sie kämpferisch bis zum Schluss.

Ob man ihr den Anflug von Lyrik in „Papillon“ von 1962 in dieser Ausstellung so recht glauben kann, stellt der zweite Teil des Titels „qui est un Icarus“ sogleich in Frage und Märchenhaftes wie in „Drei einsam im Kaleschen-Meer“ von 1963 erinnert mit „einsam“ sogleich an die vielen offenen und versteckten Grausamkeiten der Märchenwelt wie auch in „Vogel und das Lustschlösschen“ von 1971. Dahinter stehen konkrete Erlebnisse, wie in „Die Alte von M.“ von 1966, die Ursula in diesem Jahr bei einem Besuch in ihrem Geburtsort dort ganz plötzlich in einem Hinterhof auf einem hohen Sessel sitzen sah und die ihr noch aus der Zeit ihrer Geburt erzählen konnte. „Im Café“ von 1989 begegnet die Künstlerin den Schrecknissen des Alkohols und des Nikotins in Form eines von der Zimmerdecke sich zwischen sie und Glas sowie Zigarette herunterhangelnden gefährlichen Rieseninsekts. Der Aschenbecher auf dem Tischchen der rauchenden Trinkerin ist sogar als solcher beschriftet, vielleicht damit er nicht verfehlt wurde. Denn deren Wahrnehmung unterlag des öfteren heftigen Sinnestäuschungen, welche die Menschen in ihrer Nähe zu Monstern wandeln konnten, wie in „Le grand diner des petits monstres“. Vielleicht waren die „petits monstres“ auch Kinder, zu denen die kinderlose Künstlerin ein höchst ambivalentes Verhältnis von rührender Zuneigung bis geradezu gespenstischer Abneigung hatte.

Der „feinen Gesellschaft“ begegnet sie in all deren Skurrilität in der hoheitsvoll gestelzten „Impératrice des Indes“ von 1995, vielleicht nur eine aufgepfaute Zeitgenossin, im Zufallszusammentreffen von „Die Frau, der Vogel und die Kröte“ im Jahre 1996 oder einem „Bizarren Trio“ in China sowie einem Riesenhund in „Welch eine Begegnung“ und sich „Um einen Schwan“ herumdrapierenden Figuren im selben Jahr. Waren diese Beobachtungen eher ironisch kommentierte Absonderlichkeiten von Menschen und Situationen, so gestaltet sich die Gesellschaft wieder abgrundtiefer in „Die zwei Schwestern“ von 1997, die offensichtlich wenig Gemeinsames haben, und der „Terror-Maskerade“ desselben Jahres in Form  der Masken des Chors im griechischen Theater, der Masken des Totentanzes der Mary Wigmann oder der Schauerfiguren in winteraustreibenden Frühlings-Umzügen der Alpenländer. Am Ende der Ausstellung gibt die Malerin einen Rückblick auf „Eine feine Gesellschaft“.bzw. auf deren Köpfe von seltsamer Vielgestalt.

Nicht nur inhaltlich geht Ursula völlig eigene und eigenständige Wege, auch ihre Ausdrucksmittel und ihre stilistischen Möglichkeiten schöpft sie allein aus sich. Es gibt weder Vorbilder noch Vergleichbares. Das ist erstaunlich und das dürfte der Grund dafür sein, dass ihr Werk bis heute noch nicht die Beachtung im Kunstbetrieb erfuhr, die ihm aufgrund seiner Originalität und Qualität gebühren würde. Ursula selbst, der Kämpferin, waren diese Tatsachen in völliger Selbstverständlichkeit durchaus bewusst. Leider konnte sie das für Frauen in dieser Situation in heutiger Zeit oft so wesentliche neunte Lebensjahrzehnt nicht mehr erleben. Unsere Freundin starb für uns alle sehr plötzlich am 9. April 1999 in Köln.

1991 zeigten wir noch in Campione d’Italia eine Retrospektive von Ursula mit Katalog und 1998 in Wichtrach/Bern eine Doppelausstellung gemeinsam mit dem Werk von Bernard Schultze. Diesmal steht unsere Ausstellung Ursula im Kontext der parallelen Ausstellung „Frauen“, beide im Haupthaus der Galerie, ein Hinweis auf die so enorme aktive wie passive Rolle der Frau im Kunstbetrieb, ein Hinweis, der den immer noch latenten Machismo vielleicht wieder ein kleines Stück mehr ad absurdum führen sollte.

Kurz nach unserer Ausstellung von 1991 zeigte unsere unvergessene Kommilitonin Sabine Fehlemann Ursulas Lebenswerk im Von der Heydt-Museum in Wuppertal, im Stadtmuseum Köln und in der Kunsthalle Bremen mit  einem umfassenden im Hirmer-Verlag in München erschienenen Katalogbuch. Die ebenfalls unvergessene Konservatorin des Ludwig Museums in Köln, Evelyn Weiss, publizierte 2007 die grundlegende Monographie zu Ursula, ebenfalls im Hirmer-Verlag in München, mit eigenen und Beiträgen von Heinz Althöfer, Barbara Herrmann und Christa Lichtenstern sowie dem Verzeichnis sämtlicher Werke von Barbara Herrmann.

Wolfgang Henze

Werke IN DER AUSSTELLUNG (AUSWAHL)

Zu dieser Ausstellung wurden noch keine Kunstwerke hinzugefügt.
Kontaktieren Sie uns für eine Liste der Kunstwerke.

Ausstellungsansichten

No items found.

Künstler IN DER AUSSTELLUNG

Zu dieser Ausstellung wurden noch keine Künstler hinzugefügt.

Online Katalog