Exhibition text

Dance is the strongest means of expression of the human soul.‍

(Thomas Niederreuter)

Since ancient times, dance, often accompanied by music or sound compositions, has been a fundamental part of human life. In fact, this discipline was very likely present in all cultures, such as Ancient Egypt, Ancient Greece, the Etruscans and Romans, usually performed in rituals, ceremonies, popular festivals, in any case always in a collective gathering. Even today, wall paintings, vase decorations, mosaics and frescoes bear witness to the early sequences of movements, which were often performed in the context of a religion, but also as a cult. Thus also the illustration of music was handed down early.

Since music itself cannot be depicted, it has been a prime concern from antiquity to the present to bring melodies and their diverse moods closer to the viewer of their pictures. In the visual arts, this was initially limited to the depiction of musicians and their instruments. Consequently, not only the development of music was documented, but also new forms of representation of music in the visual arts arose again and again.

In fact, dance, just like the visual arts, had sought a renewal and a new understanding of physicality and movement with the Modern art that began in 1900. For both genres, the "new man" was the freely moving human being. The Modern art meant a break with traditions that had hitherto existed in life, society and culture: Urbanization, mass industry, technical progress and scientific findings such as Sigmund Freud's (1856-1939) "psychoanalysis" increasingly put the subjectivity and individuality of the individual in the foreground in the early 21st century. These impulses of the time are also taken up and made visible in music and dance.

read more

Thus, after the First World War, an expressive dance style developed. At the center of this were individuality, improvisation and solo dancing. In Germany, the development of so-called "expressive dance" was particularly characterized by individualism and the creation of "qualitatively new dance movements". Alongside the ballet stage, which was preferred by expressive dance, and alongside the experimental stage workshop, vaudeville was an important venue for dance practice.

Dance, but also music, emerged in this period from the inner drive of moving people, as a physical expression of the inner world of sensation and experience, the change and change of mental states. The rhythm was to be made physically visible and the body in this way freed from constriction and constraints.

Expressive dance was definitely danced naked in the 1920s. Therefore, representations of it are often found outdoors in nature, on the water, on the beach, in forests and meadows, depicting the human naked body in a new naturalistic sense of body and beauty. Dance was now considered a metaphor for sexuality, the relationship between the sexes, and art in general.

Just as the "Brücke" artists around Ernst Ludwig Kirchner (1880-1938), Erich Heckel (1883-1970), Karl Schmidt-Rottluff (1884-1976) and Emil Nolde (1867-1956) turned away from academy art, so did the Modern art dance against classical ballet, in which the body was forced into corset, tutu and pointe shoes and performed unnatural movements: "Where knowledge of things ceases, where only experience is law, that is where dance begins. [...] Not 'feelings' do we dance! They are already much too firmly outlined, too clearly. We dance the change and alternation of mental states, as it takes place in each individual in its own special way, and in the language of dance becomes the mirror of the human being, the most immediate symbol of all living being." This quotation from one of the most important dancers, choreographers and dance teachers of her time, Mary Wigman (1886-1973), indicates what will inevitably be connected with Modern art from then on: inner expression and the reassurance of one's own existence will become essential and a source of inspiration.

Wigman took up the immediacy and free expression of feelings in her expressive dance experiments, which she held with Rudolf von Laban at Monte Verità in Ascona and later developed further in her own dance studios, for example in Dresden. The expressivity of the body, expressed in dance, was always in the foreground. An "enchantment through distortion" as Wigman called the twisted, contorted and abrupt movements that seemed diametrically opposed not only to classical ballet but also to the bourgeois ideal of order and unity. In this and in its overriding goal of depicting individual emotions, the expressive dance coined by Wigman, also called "free dance," overlapped with the then avant-garde art movement of German Expressionism and its representatives around the "Brücke".

Thus, a flustered Ernst Ludwig Kirchner (1880-1938) noted in his diary after his visit to Wigman's dance studio in Dresden on January 16, 1926: "The new art is here. M.W. uses much from the modern paintings unconsciously, and the creation of a modern concept of beauty is as much at work in her dances as in my paintings. [...] The connection of W.'s endeavor with mine of the representation of modern beauty is doubtless." In countless sketches and drawings, Kirchner recorded on paper what presented itself to him as a silent observer during the dance rehearsals in the Dresden Residence Palace: the human body in free movement, as "immediate and unadulterated" as the "Brücke" formulated it in its 1906 program for art and it was danced by Wigman. One of the main works in the exhibition, which Kirchner created on the basis of drawings on site and later in Davos, is the colorful painting "Dance of Death of Mary Wigman" (1926-28). In alternating colors and forms, Kirchner captures how Wigman reinterprets the folk tale of the dancing dead in the fabric-like structure ("Davos carpet style") typical of him at this creative period. In the same rhythmic principle as in the repetitive elements of expressive dance, the synergy of expressionism and dance becomes impressively visible.

Just as "death" and the "dance of death" reached a peak as an iconographic theme, especially in the 1920s, when the destructive brutality of World War I and the world economic crisis of those years exposed consequences that threatened their very existence, the artists of the Modern art included in their works the dance cafés, vaudevilles, circuses, and cabarets that were beginning to characterize metropolitan nightlife in the wake of the emerging European metropolises. Similar to Kirchner and his "Brücke" friends, Georg Tappert (1880-1957) worked in Berlin, which before and after World War I became the center of all Expressionist arts and offered an exuberant sense of freedom. In the exhibition work "Mädchen am Tisch (Betty mit Fächer)" (1913), Tappert captures his favorite model around 1913, Betty, in the moment of getting ready before performing on one of the countless dance stages of the pulsating big city. In doing so, he achieves such an intense colorfulness that can only be compared to Kirchner's series of street scenes.

The large-format painting "Älplerkirchweihtanz (Bauerntanz)" (1922) by the painter Philipp Bauknecht (1884-1933) offers a completely different testimony to its time and the representation of dance and music in the Modern art . In impressive complementary contrasts and in a luminous, seemingly unrestrained colorfulness, the traditional dance becomes an expressionist celebration, in which the faces of the dancing peasants are distorted and deformed in an almost alienating manner. The artist is not looking for a genre-like depiction of peasant dance here, but represents the typicality of the figures and the archaic nature of their reality - they are elevated to a "parable of life".

The artistic explorations of dance and music in Expressionism will be juxtaposed in the exhibition with the abstract works of Fritz Winter (1905-1976) and Bernard Schultze (1915-2005). A Bauhaus student under Paul Klee, Winter made his German contribution to the "abstraction création" of the 1930s in a balancing act between the latter, Naum Gabo, and the abstracting large formats of Ernst Ludwig Kirchner during long stays in Davos. In works such as "Rhythms I" and "The Dark Organ", his investigations regarding musical themes become obvious, which Winter varied in different series of experiments - similar to music. Winter's strict lines, circles and reduced forms against a monochrome background, which seem like notes and sounds translated into art, are contrasted by Bernard Schultze's (1915-2005) organic and colorfully varied paintings. In these, the viewer:s are drawn into a non-representational world that nevertheless exhibits figurative tendencies - similar to the abstract nature of music, which, however, can also have a fleeting moment of the "tangible" inherent in it, when a certain sequence of notes or sounds can bring to light an individual memory, thought, or feeling.  

We would like to invite you to trace these special moments in our new exhibition in Riehen "EXPRESSIV! Music & Dance in the Modern art" and to let your very personal references to the topics "Music & Dance" come to life. Be inspired by the different depictions of dancers and musicians captured by the artists of German Expressionism and Abstraction.

Susanne Kirchner and Katharina Sagel

The exhibition is part of our new exhibition series "EXPRESSIV! Here we present different artists, motifs and creative periods of German Expressionism and art movements influenced by it under a specific theme.

WORKS IN THE EXHIBITION (SELECTION)

Exhibition views

No items found.

Online catalogue

Text zur Ausstellung

Der Tanz ist das stärkste Ausdrucksmittel der menschlichen Seele.

(Thomas Niederreuter)

Bereits seit der Antike ist Tanz, oft begleitet von Musik oder Klangkompositionen, ein grundlegender Bestandteil des menschlichen Lebens. Tatsächlich war diese Disziplin sehr wahrscheinlich in allen Kulturen präsent, so im Alten Ägypten, dem antiken Griechenland, bei den Etruskern und Römern, meist vollführt bei Ritualen, Zeremonien, Volksfesten, jedenfalls stets in einer kollektiven Zusammenkunft. Noch heute zeugen Wandmalereien, Vasenverzierungen, Mosaike und Fresken von den frühen Bewegungsabläufen, die oftmals im Zusammenhang einer Religion, aber auch als Kult vollzogen wurden. So wurde ebenfalls auch die Veranschaulichung von Musik frühzeitig überliefert.

Da Musik selbst nicht darstellbar ist, war es seit der Antike bis zur Gegenwart ein höchstes Anliegen, dem Betrachtenden ihrer Bilder Melodien und deren vielfältige Stimmungsgehalte näher zu bringen. Dies beschränkte sich in der Bildenden Kunst vorerst auf die Darstellung von Musiker:innen und den Instrumenten. Folglich wurde somit nicht nur die Entwicklung der Musik dokumentiert, es ergaben sich dadurch immer wieder neue Darstellungsformen von Musik in der Bildenden Kunst.

Tatsächlich hatte der Tanz, genau wie die Bildende Kunst, mit der ab 1900 einsetzenden Moderne eine Erneuerung und ein neues Verständnis von Körperlichkeit und Bewegung gesucht. Für beide Gattungen war der «neue Mensch» der sich frei bewegende Mensch.  Die Moderne bedeutete einen Bruch mit Traditionen, die bislang im Leben, Gesellschaft und Kultur bestanden: Urbanisierung, Massenindustrie, technischer Fortschritt und wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse wie Sigmund Freuds (1856-1939) «Psychoanalyse» rücken im frühen 21. Jahrhundert zunehmend die Subjektivität und Individualität des Einzelnen in den Vordergrund. Diese Impulse der Zeit werden auch in der Musik und im Tanz aufgenommen und sichtbar.

read more

So entwickelte sich nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg ein expressiver Tanzstil. Im Zentrum dessen standen Individualität, Improvisation und Solotanz. In Deutschland war die Entwicklung des sogenannten «Ausdruckstanzes» besonders stark vom Individualismus und der Gestaltung «qualitativ neuer Tanzbewegungen»  geprägt. Neben der Ballettbühne, die vom Ausdruckstanz bevorzugt wurde, und neben der experimentellen Bühnenwerkstatt war das Varieté ein wichtiger Ort tänzerischer Praxis.

Der Tanz, aber auch die Musik entstanden in dieser Zeit aus dem inneren Antrieb bewegter Menschen, als körperlicher Ausdruck der inneren Empfindungs- und Erlebniswelt, dem Wandel und Wechsel seelischer Zustände. Der Rhythmus sollte körperlich sichtbar gemacht und der Körper auf diese Weise von Einengung und Zwängen befreit werden.

Ausdruckstanz wurde in den 1920er Jahren durchaus auch nackt getanzt. Daher finden sich Darstellungen davon oft im Freien in der Natur, am Wasser, am Strand, in Wäldern und auf Wiesen, die den menschlichen nackten Körper in einem neuen naturalistischen Körper- und Schönheitsgefühl darstellen.  Tanz galt nun als Metapher für Sexualität, das Verhältnis der Geschlechter und die Kunst im Allgemeinen.

So wie sich die «Brücke»-Künstler rund um Ernst Ludwig Kirchner (1880-1938), Erich Heckel (1883-1970), Karl Schmidt-Rottluff (1884-1976) und Emil Nolde (1867-1956) von der Akademiekunst abwanden, tat dies auch der moderne Tanz gegen das klassische Ballett, bei dem sich der Körper in Korsett, Tutu und Spitzenschuhe zwängte und unnatürliche Bewegungen vollführte: «Dort, wo das Wissen um die Dinge aufhört, wo nur das Erlebnis Gesetz ist, dort beginnt der Tanz. […] Nicht ‘Gefühle’ tanzen wir! Sie sind schon viel zu fest umrissen, zu deutlich. Den Wandel und Wechsel seelischer Zustände tanzen wir, wie er sich in jedem Einzelnen auf seine besondere Art vollzieht und in der Sprache des Tanzes zum Spiegel des Menschen, zum unmittelbarsten Symbol alles lebendigen Seins wird.»  Im Zitat einer der wichtigsten Tänzerinnen, Choreografinnen und Tanzpädagoginnen ihrer Zeit, Mary Wigman (1886-1973), ist angelegt, was ab dann unweigerlich mit der Moderne verbunden sein wird: der innere Ausdruck und die Vergewisserung nach der eigenen Existenz werden essentiell und zur Inspirationsquelle.

Die Unmittelbarkeit und freie Auslebung von Gefühlen nahm Wigman in ihren expressiven Tanzexperimenten auf, die sie mit Rudolf von Laban in Monte Verità in Ascona abhielt und später in eigenen Tanzstudios, beispielsweise in Dresden, weiterentwickelte. Immer stand die Expressivität des Körpers, ausgedrückt im Tanz, im Vordergrund. Eine «Verzauberung durch Verzerrung»  wie Wigman die verdrehten, verwinkelten und abrupten Bewegungen nannte, die nicht nur dem klassischen Ballett, sondern auch dem bürgerlichen Ideal von Ordnung und Einheit diametral entgegenzustehen schienen. Hierin und in seinem übergeordneten Ziel, individuelle Emotionen abzubilden, überschnitt sich der von Wigman geprägte Ausdruckstanz, auch «Freie Tanz» genannt, mit der damals avantgardistischen Kunstrichtung des deutschen Expressionismus und seiner Vertreter um die «Brücke».

So notierte ein in helle Aufregung versetzter Ernst Ludwig Kirchner (1880-1938) nach seinem Besuch von Wigmans Tanzstudio in Dresden am 16. Januar 1926 in seinem Tagebuch: «Die neue Kunst ist da. M.W. benutzt vieles aus den modernen Bildern unbewusst, und das Schaffen eines modernen Schönheitsbegriffes ist ebenso in ihren Tänzen am  Werke wie in meinen Bildern. […] Der Zusammenhang von dem Bestreben der W. mit meinem der Darstellung der modernen Schönheit ist zweifelos.»  In unzähligen Skizzen und Zeichnungen hielt Kirchner auf Papier fest, was sich ihm als stiller Beobachter während der Tanzproben im Dresdner Residenzschloss bot: der menschliche Körper in freier Bewegung, so «unmittelbar und unverfälscht» , wie es die «Brücke» in ihrem Programm 1906 für die Kunst formulierte und es bei Wigman getanzt wurde. Ein Hauptwerk der Ausstellung, das Kirchner auf Basis von Zeichnungen vor Ort und später in Davos schuf, ist das farbgewaltige Gemälde «Totentanz der Mary Wigman» (1926-28). In abwechselnden Farben und Formen hält Kirchner in der für ihn zu dieser Schaffensperiode typisch gewebeartigen Struktur («Davoser Teppichstil») fest, wie Wigman die volkstümliche Erzählung der tanzenden Toten neu interpretiert. Im selben rhythmitisierenden Prinzip wie in den wiederholenden Elementen des Ausdrucktanzes wird die Synergie von Expressionismus und Tanz auf eindrucksvolle Art sichtbar.

Ähnlich wie der «Tod» und der «Totentanz» als ikonografisches Thema insbesondere in den 1920er Jahren einen Höhepunkt erreichten, als die zerstörerische Brutalität des Ersten Weltkrieges und die Weltwirtschaftskrise dieser Jahre existenzbedrohende Folgen offenlegten, so nahmen die Künstler der Moderne die Tanzcafés, Varietés, Zirkusse und Cabarets in ihren Werken auf, die im Zuge der aufkommenden europäischen Metropolen anfingen das grossstädtische Nachtleben zu prägen. Ähnlich zu Kirchner und seinen «Brücke»-Freunden arbeitete Georg Tappert (1880-1957) in Berlin, das vor und nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg zum Zentrum aller expressionistischen Künste wurde und ein überbordendes Freiheitsgefühl bot. Im Ausstellungswerk «Mädchen am Tisch (Betty mit Fächer)“ (1913) hält Tappert sein um 1913 bevorzugtes Modell Betty im Moment des Zurechtmachens vor dem Auftritt auf einer der unzähligen Tanzbühnen der pulsierenden Grossstadt fest. Er erreicht dabei eine solch intensive Farbigkeit, wie sie nur vergleichbar mit der Serie an Strassenszenen von Kirchner ist.

Ein ganz anderes Zeugnis seiner Zeit und der Darstellung von Tanz und Musik in der Moderne bietet das grossformatige Gemälde «Älplerkirchweihtanz (Bauerntanz)» (1922) des Malers Philipp Bauknecht (1884-1933). In eindrucksvollen Komplementärkontrasten und in einer leuchtenden, schier unbändig erscheinenden Farbigkeit wird der traditionelle Tanz zu einem expressionistischen Fest, in welchem die Gesichter der tanzenden Bauern in beinahe befremdender Manier verzerrt und defomiert sind. Der Künstler sucht hier keine genrehafte Abbildung des bäuerlichen Tanzes, sondern stellt das Typenhafte der Figuren und das Archaische ihrer Lebenswirklichkeit dar – sie werden zu einem «Gleichnis des Lebens» erhoben.

Den künstlerischen Erforschungen des Tanzes und der Musik im Expressionismus werden in der Ausstellung die abstrakten Werke von Fritz Winter (1905-1976) und Bernard Schultze (1915-2005) gegenüberstehen. Als Bauhausschüler bei Paul Klee leistete Winter im Spagat zwischen diesem, Naum Gabo und den abstrahierenden Grossformaten von Ernst Ludwig Kirchner in langen Davoser Aufenthalten seinen deutschen Beitrag zur "abstraction création" der 1930er Jahre. Dabei werden in Werken wie «Rhythmen I» und «Die dunkle Orgel» seine Untersuchungen hinsichtlich musikalischer Themen offensichtlich, die Winter in verschiedenen Versuchsreihen – ähnlich der Musik – durchvariierte. Den strengen Linien, Kreisen und reduzierten Formen Winters vor monochromen Hintergrund, die wie in die Kunst übersetzte Noten und Töne erscheinen, kontrastieren Bernard Schultzes (1915-2005) organischen und farblich abwechslungsreichen Gemälden. In diesen werden die Betrachter:innen in eine ungegenständliche Welt, die dennoch figürliche Tendenzen aufweist, hineingezogen – ähnlich zur abstrakten Natur der Musik, der jedoch auch ein flüchtiger Moment des «Greifbaren» innewohnen kann, wenn eine bestimmte Ton- oder Klangabfolge eine individuelle Erinnerung, einen Gedanken oder ein Gefühl zu Tage bringen kann.  

Wir möchten Sie herzlich einladen, diesen besonderen Momenten in unserer neuen Ausstellung in Riehen «EXPRESSIV! Musik & Tanz in der Moderne» nachzuspüren und Ihre ganz persönlichen Bezüge zu den Themen «Musik & Tanz» aufleben zu lassen. Lassen Sie sich von den unterschiedlichen Darstellungen der Tanzenden und Musizierenden inspirieren, welche die Künstler des Deutschen Expressionismus und der Abstraktion eingefangen haben.

Susanne Kirchner und Katharina Sagel

Die Ausstellung ist Teil unserer neuen Ausstellungsreihe «EXPRESSIV!». Hier stellen wir unter einem bestimmten Thema verschiedene Künstler:innen, Bildmotive und Schaffensperioden des Deutschen Expressionismus und von ihm beeinflussten Kunstströmungen vor.

Ausstellungsansichten

No items found.

Werke IN DER AUSSTELLUNG (AUSWAHL)